Where we ate: Las Vegas

I’ve been back from my European getaway for a few weeks now, I’m finally past my post-vacation depression (yeah, that’s a real thing). But before I get into those adventures, I’ve gotta share some of the places Albert & I ate in Vegas. We were there in February to check out the one & only Jennifer Lopez in her ‘All I Have’ show at Planet Hollywood. I’ve been a JLO fan since her flygirl days (In Living Colour), so this was a huge moment for me. I won’t get into it too much but what an amazing show! The dancers, the stage, her energy & her body! If you get a chance, check it out.

With Las Vegas being just a cheap flight away from Vancouver I’ve had my fair share of Vegas weekends. However my interests have shifted a bit, I’m no longer 21 and getting away with 4 hours of sleep over 3 days & getting by on 4am McDonalds breakfasts. I’m 29 & I’m a little pickier with what I’m putting into my body and I like my sleep. Don’t get it twisted though, Albert & I still sipped gin & cranberry all day and took patron shots every few hours (I can still keep up 😉 )

Las Vegas is filled with amazing places to eat. From 5 star restaurants to hole-in-the-wall burger spots, there’s something to satisfy any craving. There’s so many places I still need to check out but a girl can only eat so much in 3 days! One of our favourite spots is located inside The Hard Rock Hotel (where we stayed). Pink Taco Las Vegas prides itself on its authentic Mexican taste. Their menu offers everything from street corn to fried lobster tacos. We went back twice for their tacos, the meat is tender, tortillas are made in house and the spice is just right (although Albert did double up on their famous ‘diablo sauce’ for some extra kick). We tried the classic pink taco with achiote chicken, al pastor (pork) and baja shrimp. I honestly believe you can’t go wrong with any taco you order from here.tacos1My second favourite spot is Culinary Dropout located once again inside the Hard Rock Hotel. Culinary Dropout has nailed it’s gastro-pub concept, the staff don’t wear uniforms, there’s live music, it’s a very soulful vibe. Although they’re famous for their house made pretzels and provolone fondue, Albert & I opted for their cheddar & potato pierogies with crispy brussel sprouts and black mussels with spicy sausage.culinarydropoutWhen it comes to mussels I’m all about the broth and I swear I could bathe in this. It was light with the perfect hint of spice and garlic, so delicious.mussels3 Look at this perfect little mussel!mussels1_nailWe also checked out STK Vegas located inside the Cosmopolitan Hotel. This is a perfect date spot – dim lighting, an in-house DJ & all the qualities that make up a contemporary steakhouse. Now the price point isn’t low, so if you’re on a budget I’d probably skip this spot, but it’s well worth it, the food is delicious! We started off with dirty martinis (1 turned into 2 which turned into 5…) We both ordered the filet cooked medium rare, mine with chimichurri sauce and Albert’s with horseradish. We shared our sides of creamy yukon potatoes and sauteed mushrooms.STK_steakIf you can only order 1 item off this menu, get the mashed potatoes. They are literally buttery, silky perfection.

Last but not least, we went to LUPO by Wolfgang Puck located inside Mandalay Bay. This is Wolfgang Puck’s first Italian restaurant, they specialize in tableside service and even have a glass enclosed area where fresh pasta is made daily. I love Italian food and if you do too, check out LUPO, you’ll be happy you did 🙂

We ordered the Pappardelle Bolognese, this is one of those dishes where the quality of the pasta is key. The pappardelle was tender yet firm (as my home economics teacher loved to say, perfectly al dente) and the sauce was rich & flavorful but not heavy (as I find certain meat sauces sometimes are).pasta1We also split the Al Prosciutto San Daniele pizza (prosciutto, mozzarella, wild arugula & parmesan). You can never really go wrong with a wood fired pizza. The saltiness of the prosciutto mixed with the peppery arugula makes for a perfect pair.pizza1

Overall, Las Vegas is a foodie’s dream – eat everything, drink everything & worry about it later (or not at all like me).

Leave a Reply

