Where we ate: New York City

If you’ve ever been to New York you know there are literally thousands of places to eat! Narrowing it down is next to impossible, but we somehow manage. Whenever we visit the city we try new spots and re-visit old favourites! To be honest, in New York, you can’t really go wrong (& hey if you do, there’s always a good NY pizza slice to satisfy your appetite!)

Now there’s one place I highly recommend, Miss Lily’s (Soho or the East Village) If you’re looking for a true Jamaican experience, you’ll find it here. First let’s start with the vibe, the music is always on point – reggae, soca, dancehall, afro beats (the DJ’s know their sh*t here!) Now let’s move on to the staff, I wanna be best friends with all of them. They’re sweet, stylish and oh my gosh can they move! (seriously, if one of you is reading this, can you teach me how to move my hips like you? It’s ridiculous!) All that is on top of what gives Miss Lily’s its’ great reputation, the food. We always start off with the Jerk Corn (but let me tell you, I’ve tried many things off this menu & you really can’t go wrong with anything)dsc04736This time around we ordered Curry Goat Stew (boneless curried goat with irish potatoes, peas,roti & jasmine rice) Oxtail Stew – my personal favourite (rich gravy, beans, rice & peas) & a side of plantains which we washed down with some Tings and Lily’s Punch!dsc04744This oxtail literally falls off the bone, it’s so tender and rich, I could eat it everyday.dsc04739Albert’s clearly happy haha 😉dsc04749Whatever location you visit, I guarantee you will not be disappointed! Oh & did I mention that the Chef De Cuisine, Andre Fowles won ‘the Caribbean challenge’ on Chopped (if you religiously watch The Food Network like I do, you’ll know what I’m talking about). Seriously, just go.

When we’re in New York, Albert & I always get a pasta craving (to be honest, I get pasta cravings every other day). We had planned to go to Eataly, but time got the best of us. So I looked on Yelp to see what pasta places close by had the best reviews! We ended up checking out Casa Nonna, located just south of the theatre district. We walked in and it had a great ambiance (candlelight, classical music) If I feel like I’m in a Mob movie then the pasta must be good! dsc04770We ordered a couple of dirty gin martinis to start and split the Spaghetti Pomodoro and Porcini Freschi E Ricotta Mezzaluna (I really hope I got that right!). Both dishes were delicious, the spaghetti was al dente & the meatballs were seasoned just right.dsc04771The Porcini mushrooms were SO good (i love mushrooms) so the light cook on them really let you taste the earthiness of the mushroom, mix that with a rich butter sauce, yum.dsc04773

These are just 2 of many amazing spots to visit in New York. It’s impossible to satisfy all your food cravings in one trip, but I promise you New York, I’ll be back 😉

Leave a Reply

