Around the island: Koh Samui, Thailand

I’ve posted about where we stayed in Samui, what we ate & our island hopping. But there’s so many more things we got up to that don’t necessarily fit into one of my ‘categories’. So this is my random post of sh*t we got into around the island!

I think I’ve said numerous times that Koh Samui is one of my favourite places. Here’s one of the reasons why, Chaweng Beach. This is literally a never ending strip of white sand beach lined with restaurants, hotels, bars, clubs…literally everything!DSC03268DSC03267When you’re in Samui you’ll probably have a few people tell you to check out Ark Bar Beach Club, & you should listen to them. Ark Bar is a hotel/bar/restaurant/club/hookah bar all in one. We spent a bit of time here (smoking hookah while drinking a vodka pineapple in the sun and munching on chicken satay, umm yes please). The music got a little intense for me at times, I’m not a huge electronic music fan, but it created that party vibe that so many people look for in Thailand. There’s a daily pool party, DJ’s & fireworks. The crowd is generally people in their 20’s & early 30’s but because it’s on a busy strip of beach there are people of all ages enjoying a drink or two & some delicious food!DSC03281DSC03287These guys were walking up & down the beach with their owners, I asked to pet one & this happened.. πŸ˜‰

Chaweng Beach @ night!DSC03305I was pretending to be a mermaid…DSC03334He was pretending to be in Baywatch?.. haha πŸ˜‰DSC03517There’s vendors walking up & down the beaches all day. They’re selling jewelry, clothes, cold drinks, henna tattoos & more. I normally smile & say ‘no thank you’ but after a few drinks a girl can’t help but want a henna tattoo on her hand. Although in my head I was having a Rihanna moment, my henna tattoo turned out a little simpler! Not what I was hoping for but the kid doing them was young & I wanted to support his hustle! πŸ™‚DSC03469DSC03466This is my guilty pleasure. I don’t like to admit this, but this picture is too good not to post. I always have a late night or two that I get McDonalds. I feel like I need to taste the difference. Does the 2 cheeseburger meal taste the same here as it does back home? (yes, this is a question that I’ve genuinely asked out loud after a few drinks). Now you know my little secret! πŸ˜‰DSC03475There are many experiences to be had in Samui. My advice is to relax & go with the flow. Do what you feel & the good times will follow, that’s what we did. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Around the island: Koh Samui, Thailand

Leave a Reply

